top of page

20. What is the certification exam?

In abacus, certification exam is held once or twice a year. The levels tested depend on student’s current learning state.

The exam subjects include:


Addition & subtraction, multiplication and division

Mental arithmetic:

Addition & subtraction, multiplication and division

Every subject has a passing standard of 70 points.

If a student can pass all three subjects on abacus or mental arithmetic, he or she can receive the respective certificate. Students register for a particular level based on their learning situation. They can also register for different levels for abacus or mental arithmetic. For example, some students are willing to put in a lot of time to practice mental arithmetic and they might register for Level 6 on abacus and Level 1 on mental arithmetic.

The verification exams start with Level 10 and end at Level 1. Beyond Level 1, there are 15 advanced Levels (from Advanced Level 1to 15). It is designed as a self-evaluation exam, in which you receive certificates if you pass.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

01. What are abacus and mental arithmetic?

Abacus is an ancient calculator originated from China. It was used for basic mathematic operations and solve questions like square roots. There are certain rules and formulae to follow when using an a

02. Why do students learn abacus and mental arithmetic?

One common question people have is “In an era of easy access to computers and calculators, why go through the trouble of learning mental arithmetic? It is quite simple. Why do we run or ride bikes whe


bottom of page